Garden Color in an instant!

Keeyla Meadow's newest book...

 

I saw Keeyla Meadows when she was promoting her first book at the Northwest Flower and Garden Show in Seattle a few years ago. She presented a seminar there about using color in the garden. We all sat there waiting for her to spill out something that we could  take home with us that would make our efforts look even 1/100th as over the top as her creations.  She taught me one very important thing.  It hit home and continues to be one of my secret weapons in the garden.  She said in her talk, ” the fastest, least expensive way to add COLOR to any garden is with PAINT! …After that, I have never been able to walk past the MIS-MATCHED paints in Home Depot or Lowes without checking to see if they had some beautiful color that I needed for something magical that I might paint some day. My son and I started transforming the Garden Center yesterday. We started by adding a fresh coat of white to the main walls and shelves in the gift shoppe.  Today I moved forward and went crazy with a beautiful, natural shade of Grey on 3 tables, one shelf and 2 crates and made a “new” corner to display some new products on order.  Tomorrow I am moving on to the good stuff…Coral and Lavender and Turquoise!  It has been a long winter and I have been COLOR Starved! I am in Heaven with my$ 3.00 gallons of paint and a roller and a brush!  When I get done painting everything in sight, I will reward myself with a copy of my Favorite Garden Artist’s newest book!

Leave a Reply

