Growing Vegetables Indoors…Can we get to a Harvest?

It is a fresh new year full of possibilities, so why am I doubting myself? I have never been very successful growing indoors, and now I have a plan to actually get my newly planted seeds to do their thing and actually live and produce something edible before my very eyes on our kitchen table. This may be wishful thinking, or it just seems wishful because I have never done it yet.

I pulled the Earthboxes out of storage yesterday. Unburied 3 bags of Organic potting Soil from the snow and brought them inside to thaw out. Today was the big day to plant! After soaking the seeds overnight, I seeded directly into the soil in the boxes. I saved some of the seeds in case these flop and I need to start them in mini greenhouse trays and then transplant them when they are bigger. I know some plants do not like to be transplanted so I figured I would try direct sowing first.

I planted quick-growing “Bloomsdale” Spinach(39 days), “Red Russian” Kale(60 days), “Bulls Blood” beets(60 days), and “Oregon Sugar Pod II” peas(62 days). The way I figure it we should be able to eat some spinach by Valentine’s Day and then be harvesting the rest by March 1st. I intend to juice any beet greens or Kale starts that I end up thinning out. I am sure I planted too thick to be sure I had enough seedings pop up to choose from.  Cross your fingers for me and I will keep you posted on this challenge weekly.

Leave a Reply

