New LIFE emerging in the dead of Winter!

Newly emerging little sprouts give warmth to the dreary days of Winter! I had doubts about the ability to grow indoors and these precious little signs of hope are proving me wrong!

Experiment NOTES:

There has been some signs of mold wanting to start to ruin my little project. I knocked it down with my hand and added a fan to circulate the air.

I think I might need to find a sunnier window on the south side or add a grow light as these get bigger…?

Peas were fast to sprout and are supposed to be good as micro greens so I may want to start some and try them.

This would be a good project for kids! I bought my Grand kids a sprouting jar for them to try. I can’t wait to have them report on their progress!

2 Comments

  1. 9milemom said,

    January 9, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    we used to grow sprouts when I was in college. Had a big gallon size jar with holes in the lid. Had moist paper towels and added the seeds. they grew like crazy!! Not sure how they would work here in the colder climate though. Where do you get your seeds. I’ve thought of trying again.

    • January 9, 2011 at 7:34 pm

      Yes, they grow great indoors! I have had no problem growing sprouts..only full size plants indoors. It seems like they always get really tall and thin and then fall over! I have been told it is a light issue. sprouts do not need light to get to the stage that they can be eaten.
      We will be stocking seeds and supplies when we open in April! In the mean time you can get all kinds of sprouting seeds at Pilgrims Nutrition Center in Coeur d’Alene or Main Market in Downtown Spokane.


Leave a Reply

