Gardening made EASY!

The all new Square Foot Gardening Book!

I have been gardening since I can remember with my parents. I always remember my favorite job was to make the hills for the squash and cukes.  The dirt was always fluffy and nice. I didn’t know what an accomplishment that was until I started my own garden as an adult!  The amending and the rototilling, and more amending!  Still, I never seemed to have the nice soil that my parents were able to achieve .

That all changed last year when we set up an above ground demonstration garden at the nursery! I was so excited at how fluffy the soil was and then later at how BIG everything in that bed grew! It was the difference between night and day compared to my attempts to garden in the ground . I had read Mel Bartholomew’s  “All New Square Foot Gardening” and followed his soil recipe pretty closely.  I added Composts, Peat Moss and Vermiculite in nearly equal amounts as he did and it was awesome compared to the hard rock clay “top soil” that I was used to gardening in.  We followed his plan even closer this season in that bed and made the square grids to guide our planting and it looks like everything we planted is perfectly spaced!

I can’t tell you how easy it is to take some 2 x 6 boards and some metal corner brackets at a few dollars a piece and put together a “raised bed”.  You can build it anywhere!  On top of lawn that you are having to mow and water seems like the very best spot!  If you are going to be a slave to something, make it something that produces healthy food for you and your family!

We do have everything you need to get started on this wonderful adventure. We even have some pass outs available to use as a guide if you haven’t got the book. You can stop in and see our display garden and see just how EASY it really is! Who says you have to have  “green thumb” to GARDEN?  Happy planting!

Leave a Reply

